Seven learning disabilities which are often responsible for organizational failure: – Prof. Peter Senge (MIT)

1 – I am my position

 2 – The enemy is out there

3 – The illusion of taking charge

 4 – The fixation on events

5 – The parable of the boiled frog

6 – The delusion of learning from experience

7 – The myth of the management team  

[1]-I am my own position is when people focus only on their position within the organization and have little sense of responsibility for the results produced -when all positions interact.  

[2]-The enemy is out there syndrome is when we focus only on our position; we do not see how our own actions extend beyond the boundary of that position. 

[3]-The illusion of taking charge is that we should face up to difficult issues, stop waiting for someone else to do something, and solve problems before they grow into crises but proactiveness is really reactive ness in disguise.

[4]-The fixation on events leads to “event” explanations that are true for now but distract us from seeing the longer-tenri patterns of change behind the events and understanding the causes of the patterns to events.

[5]-The parable of the boiled frog is in relation to the maladaptation of organizations to recognize gradually building threats to survival; just as the frog placed in a pot of water brought to boiling temperature will not attempt to jump out of the pot but adjusts to the temperature and slowly dies.

[6]-The delusion of learning from experience is when our actions have consequences in the distant future or part of the larger operating system, which makes it impossible to learn from direct experience.

[7]-The myth of the management team
because teams in business tend to spend their time fighting for turf, avoiding anything that will make them look bad personally, and pretending that everyone is behind the team’s collective strategy.

19 Responses to “Seven learning disabilities which are often responsible for organizational failure: – Prof. Peter Senge (MIT)”

  1. Misbah Sabra Says:

    Dear sir
    i would like to thank you greatly for this piece of work
    It’s really helpful
    Mesbah Sabra
    Egypt

  2. patricia gan Says:

    Dear Sir,
    can you please give me an situational example for [6]-The delusion of learning from experience ? it would really help me understand it better. thank you!

  3. Gary Says:

    Thank-you for this piece of work, helped greatly and saved me a lot of time looking around for other answers! hopefully I can remember it for my exam!

  4. Duncan Ssentamu Says:

    Great piece of work that leads you to check own learning abilities and inspires you to become better. Thank You. Uganda

  5. MOLLY T Says:

    Very informative and has helped me to realize that learning disabilities can cripple an organizations whether in profit or non profit setting as both need to be learning organizations for them to live up to the challenges of a changing World socially , economically and politically….. .To fit in ,just learn. I hope I pass my leadership exam due this afternoon or change will change me!

  6. erdwin, indonesia Says:

    finally, i found the concised form of peter senge thought. thank you

  7. cheap goods from amazon Says:

    cheap goods from amazon…

    [...]Seven learning disabilities which are often responsible for organizational failure: – Prof. Peter Senge (MIT) « Great Human Capital[...]…

  8. Extra Large Binder Clips Says:

    Extra Large Binder Clips…

    [...]Seven learning disabilities which are often responsible for organizational failure: – Prof. Peter Senge (MIT) « Great Human Capital[...]…

  9. Ahlam Alenzy Says:

    even people are suffering from these disabilities

  10. Doni Widiantono - Indonesia Says:

    Dear Prof Senge, I would like to have your comments on whether we should differentiate between learning disabilities at personal level and institutional level? in my opinion, some disabilities happened to be working at personal level, such as i am my position or other bad habits. But, some other factors may be indebted to institutional level e.g. corporate culture that is not supportive towards the process of learning within the organization. I look forward to your comments on that. Thank you.

  11. disabled dating sites uk Says:

    Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  12. Website Says:

    Hi there, I discovered your web site by way of Google at the same time
    as searching for a related subject, your site came up, it seems to
    be good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog via Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful in case you continue this in future. A lot of people will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  13. harriet Says:

    thanks alots for giving us the seven learnin disabilities bcos it wil help me alot in ma forth coming exams and on ma work place

  14. paul Says:

    This learning disabilities are very common in public sector where public officers wield alot of power and blame others for failing them forgeting that postive results come out of team work,enrolling committment of every employee,continuosly scanning the external and internal enviroment to ensure the organization is on course.
    Paul uganda.

  15. madhurani b s Says:

    I like this type of blogs….

  16. madhurani b s Says:

    10q for sharing your thought sir…It helps me in my work place

  17. Website Says:

    Hi there, I believe your site might be having internet browser compatibility problems.
    When I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful site!

  18. blogspot.Com Says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this brilliant blog!

    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarrking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Gooogle account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with my Fafebook group.
    Chat soon!

  19. vetle anonym (@runsteam) Says:

    Thank you so much, sir. Great analysis and resumé.

    Cheers from Norway

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

